Facebook’s New “Reaction” Emojis

by admin, October 10, 2015

Are you still awaiting the all-time wanted “dislike” button? It is not going to happen. What’s happening now at Facebook are new “Reactions” buttons that will reveal online users’ “empathy”.

According to Zuckerberg “People aren’t looking for an ability to down-vote other people’s posts. What they really want is to be able to express empathy. If you are sharing something that is sad, whether it’s something in current events like the refugee crisis that touches you, or if a family member passed away, then it might not feel comfortable to Like that post.”

Ireland and Spain are the first to witness this new feature which is a set of six emojis “Love,” “Haha,” “Yay,” “Wow,” “Sad” and “Angry.” Will these “reactions” level up to the “like” button?

As a side note, Jason Taylor, Facebook’s Infrastructure VP mentioned that the “like” button was used 6 billion times per day in 2014!

How did Facebook decide on these six emojis? Chris Cox, Facebook’s chief product officer, says the company “studied which comments and reactions are most commonly and universally expressed across Facebook” before designing the new feature.

Do these new features cover everything users feel? Definitely not, but should Facebook be responsible for expressing your feelings? This questions remains open knowing that there are better ways to reveal empathy than clicking on an animated emoji.

What emojis would you like to add?

No Comments

Please login to comment